5 Comments
author

I'll go first! I've spent today feeling the love for Shetland wool generally, and this wee Porty Cardigan in particular! I decided to give it some TLC today, with its maybe second ever wash, some gentle de-pilling, and reattaching a button. While I did, I marvelled at the wonder that is Shetland wool. This cardigan has seen *a ton* of wear by my little one; it's been in almost daily rotation since I finished it last September. In that time, it's seen a lot: muddy tumbles, rain storms, snack showers, run ins with velcro and emerging teeth -- and yet, it looks almost as it did the day it came off the needles. Sure, there were a few pills (easy to remove) and some ever so slight felting at the cuff (the result of baby chewing) but it feels like it's virtually indestructible. Water beads off it; even mud, once dried, seems to just fall away! So many thanks, wee Porty, for your months of service so far; I hope you enjoyed your Valentine's day trip to the spa, and I'm looking forward to having your company for many more family adventures. (And now I am feeling ready to cast on a new project with Shetland wool!)

Pattern is Kids Porty by Gudrun Johnston, knit in J&S Shetland 2ply

Expand full comment
Feb 14Liked by Katherine Radburn

I'll second the love for sturdy, non-superwash wools, especially Shetland. These are often called "rustic", but I'm not sure where that descriptor came from because to me they feel so perfectly developed, so much the essence of their place. The first colorwork pullover I knit and the latest one are both Marie Wallin designs in Jamieson of Shetland's Spindrift and the first one, now more than six years old, looks and feels just as good as the new one.

Expand full comment
Feb 15Liked by Katherine Radburn

Not sure if they qualify as tools, probably classed as accessories, but my love goes to some of my project bags which remind me of places I have visited - one from my first visit to EYF, and another bought in a Lancaster fabric shop where I ABSOLUTELY was NOT going to buy anything!

A project bag that is just the right size for the current project is a thing of joy.

Expand full comment