30 Comments
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

I’d love to join in this year! I really enjoy knitting socks and always have at least one pair on the go. I’m not hard on my own socks so I don’t actually have any in a mending pile. My aim is to knit at least 18 pairs this year between shorties for myself, full size for myself, at least 6 pairs of men’s shoe size 10 for charity (Operation Christmas Stocking) and a pair for my husband for Christmas, a tradition. I’ve got 3 pairs in progress right now and plans to start a 4th from newly wound yarn so those give me a good start.

Expand full comment
Jan 11Liked by Katherine Radburn

Hi Katherine, I’m in! Since the sock knitting class 5, yes 5 years ago, I’ve knitted a few pairs but this year I have at least 5 pairs planned to knit. I’m halfway through my first pair for my daughter in law and next will be a pair for my son. This is my plan, whether it happens I don’t know but this group might keep me on track🤞.

Expand full comment
Jan 9Liked by Katherine Radburn

It's been so good to see you do this the last two years, and this year I'm ready to join in. My sock drawer is in desperate need of repair and replenishment. I'll set a goal of six pairs made or mended, and a stretch goal of 12 pairs which is unlikely given my history, but you never know.

My secret weapons are WIPs (3 pairs in progress) and sock tubes (3 of those too I think). But I would like to knit a couple of pairs from scratch too. In the past I always had a vanilla self-striping pair on the needles for social knititng, car rides, waiting rooms, etc.

I picked up a pair of socks in progress over the holidays - the Esther Socks by Grus Knits - and am now 70% done, so onwards!!

Expand full comment
Jan 9Liked by Katherine Radburn

This is nicely timed as I was going through my sock box over Christmas. Have found three pairs of socks that need some preventative darning (I do re-enforced toes now, these are early socks so it's nice that they're still with me), plus I unearthed a WiP pair (I do try and at least start the second sock so when I find them again, it's not a complete second sock horror scenario) to go into my bag as a commute project and cast on a new sock for WFH boredom moments.

I do want to make a dent in the lovely sock yarn I have bought over the last couple years and haven't got round to knitting as well.

Expand full comment
Jan 8Liked by Katherine Radburn

I already commented on Instagram, but seeing all your plans is inspiring me! In addition to making at least 6 pairs this year, I want to use up stash yarn. I have a large sock yarn stash that hasn't gotten enough love (and keeps growing).

As far as patterns go...in addition to subscribing to Stephen West's Year of Socks for a second year, there are two new sock books coming out this spring by Julie Ann Lebouthillier and Summer Lee, both of whom write lots of excellent sock patterns. So I will have plenty of inspiration, now let's see if I keep up the sock knitting or get distracted by sweaters!

Expand full comment
Jan 8Liked by Katherine Radburn

I'd love to join!! Lots of woolly socks to make for my husband, with a few thrown if for me. I also have lots to darn....xx

Expand full comment
Jan 6Liked by Katherine Radburn

I'm happy to join in. I've got two sock knitting goals for this year:

1. Knit 12 pairs

2. Work out the best fitting vanilla sock recipe for me

I've signed up for a monthly yarn subscription service to help make the goal fun

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

Count me in, I have quite a few pairs forlornly sitting in a basket waiting to be mended and several new pairs started abandoned alongside. This will definitely give me a nudge to help them along and out of there!

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

I’ll join in again Katherine. Last year I knitted several pairs of socks but forgot to add the tag if I posted them on IG. I rarely need to darn my socks.

I’ve got a pair on the needles at present. A simple garter rib pattern by a local designer. I’m using an Opal yarn, which I find wears very well.

At the end of 2023 I finally turned about six pairs of knitted socks out of my sock drawer. They included some of the first socks I knitted, many years ago. Much worn and washed, they had all faded and got thin, or had felted and no longer fit. I’m sad to see these go, as we have travelled together and they are part of the journey memories.

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

I can definitely join you on this. I’ve currently got 3 pairs staring at me from the mending pile. Could do with improving my darning skills though.

I think you mentioned a little mending gadget you had?? Not just the old skool wooden mushroom.

Once the mending’s done, I’ve got a few nice skeins in the stash to work up some new socks too.

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

I'm in. Would like to continue my box of socks to open on Christmas day adding 4 pairs this year, the aim is one per season. I have 3 pairs to mend and get back in rotation. I want to focus on robust socks, ideally some commercial dk yarn if I can get my hands on it otherwise two 4ply yarns marled together. My first pair I hope to cast on next week holding a commercial self patterning yarn with a strand of mohair. Handknit socks are the best 🥰

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

My sock drawer overfloweth! I don't seem to wear them out, either. So my goal this year is to knit socks for others, reduce the self-striping yarn stash through a combination of decreased input and increased output, and try to get out of my self-stiping-yarn-induced vanilla sock rut (but they are so fun!) by knitting a few fancy socks. Would love to learn to darn but have no holes yet to work on.

Expand full comment
Jan 5Liked by Katherine Radburn

I'm in. I love hand knitted woollen socks and a lot of sock yarn to use up. I've done the Handmade Sock Society by Curious Handmade for the past few years but I think I've got stuck in a rut with one designer and want to expand. Usually a 100g ball is sufficient for me to get a pair of calf and trainer socks from so as long as the pattern is interesting I can hopefully do a couple of pairs in a month. I've also got one sock that needs mending so I'm looking for hints and tips on how to mend, I'm usually not very good at darning.

Expand full comment