12 Comments
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Katherine Radburn

My special talent is knitting cardigans in unsuitable yarns and/or unflattering styles. I’ve recently rehomed almost all of these (very liberating!) but there’s one in a yarn I can’t bear to part with, so thanks for the encouragement to unravel!

Expand full comment
author

It is easy to unravel with cheerleaders! I'm hoping this post gives me the push I need too!

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Katherine Radburn

So, so many underemployed knits here. I suspect that the only real solution would be to move to a climate that’s more knitwear-friendly. I’m currently reknitting yarn that I’ve repurposed from a shawl that just didn’t play nicely with the long colour changes in the yarn. The steaming trick works really well - I skein the yarn, loop it over the end of the ironing board, hold my steam iron a bit above the yarn, and then gently smooth the yarn out.

Expand full comment
author

It is hard if you don't live somewhere where you need lots of knits!

Great to hear how you do it with the steam iron ... I need to just put my big girl pants on and start ripping!

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Katherine Radburn

I have comparatively few finished things to the amount of time I’ve been knitting because of how frequently I’ve ripped & reknit things that didn’t work. And even though every time I’m really glad I did, it still is hard for some reason?? I’ve got one thing right now that I’ve been wavering on—trying to make myself like it as is (why) and worrying that since it’s the second try in this yarn that it won’t hold up to being ripped again (it’s very sturdy yarn)… anyways. Thanks for the reminder!

I’ve also been working on not only yanking our whole things, but making small adjustments to take garments from not-great to awesome. Things like a small sleeve extension, redoing a collar or changing a neckline have helped SO much.

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, it's hard to find the right balance between giving ourselves time to come around to something v. hanging on to something just for the sake of it! And a very good reminder that sometimes it's actually just a small tweak to make something work so much better. Which reminds me, I really need to redo the buttonband on a cardigan I knit my daughter last year ... it's serviceable, but flares a bit and always annoys me. It'd be the work of an evening to fix it, and worth doing as she has at least a season of wear left in it!

Expand full comment
Jun 17, 2023Liked by Katherine Radburn

Well, I ripped back a V- neck sweater and a cardigan The yarn is most of the time a gift and rather expensive. The V-neck sweater needs 2 times ripping before it was transformed in a well fitted cardigan with button-band and -holes and contrasting wedge. The cardigan transformed in a sweater with keyholes at the front and sleeves. Okay, the ripping back, winding, soaking, drying and winding on again is time consuming but, in my opinion: worthwhile!

Expand full comment
author

That's great that you've persevered to end up with garments you love!!

Expand full comment
Jun 17, 2023Liked by Katherine Radburn

Well, I regularly wear the one you sent to me! It's a core part of my spring and autumn outfits and goes with almost everything I own ;-)

Expand full comment
author

Oh Anna, this makes me so so happy to hear! I'm so happy that sweater found such a perfect home :D

Expand full comment

Well, I wonder who that friend could be? Sounds awfully familiar!

Often the idea for a re-knit starts because I see a new/different pattern, and then realise that I have just the right yarn locked inside a 'not so loved' item.

I currently have a plan to eventually turn several small shawls made in with-nylon sock yarn into socks! These were made in my early days of returning to knitting before I appreciated the different fibre content of yarns. A plan that will keep me going for some time .....!!

Expand full comment

Sometimes you only have to be stubborn 😜 But you, Jen Arnall Culliford and the mind of the hive (ACTechniques) give me the last push to do it ....

Expand full comment